Outstanding Faculty Award honorees Nhut Ho and Steven Graves. (Ringo Chiu / CSUN)

Mariano Loza-Coll, left, and Peter Bishay show their Distinguished Teaching Awards. (Ringo Chiu / CSUN)

Faculty officers and committee chairs at the Honored Faculty Awards Reception, Friday, May 10, 2024. Left to right: Brianna Limas, Danielle Spratt, Aimee Glocke, Yoko Mimura, Theresa White, Michael Neubauer, Dan Weingarten. (Ringo Chiu / CSUN)

The CSUN Faculty Senate celebrated outstanding educators and their many achievements at the annual Honored Faculty Awards Reception, which took place May 10 at the Orchard Conference Center. More than 20 faculty members received emeritus status — conferred by CSUN President Erika D. Beck — and Provost Meera Komarraju presented service year recognition to faculty members who have served 25, 30, 35 and 40 years. Outstanding Faculty Awards and Distinguished Teaching and Counseling Awards were also presented.

Outstanding Faculty Awards

Nhut Ho, professor, Mechanical Engineering, College of Engineering and Computer Science

Steven Graves, professor, Geography and Environmental Studies, College of Social and Behavioral Sciences

Distinguished Teaching, Counseling or Librarianship Awards

Paula Thomson, professor, Kinesiology, College of Health and Human Development

Peter Bishay, professor, Mechanical Engineering, College of Engineering and Computer Science

Mariano Loza-Coll, associate professor, Biology, College of Science and Mathematics

Other honors included the Preeminent Scholarly Publication Award, Extraordinary Service Award and the Exceptional Creative Accomplishments Award. More information about these honors can be found on the Faculty Senate’s website.

The awards are supported by the CSUN President and Provost, as well as the Office of Faculty Affairs, the Office of Research and Sponsored Programs, the CSUN Foundation, the Office of Community Engagement and the Tseng College.

Write A Comment