After a weekend filled with commencement ceremonies to celebrate students, on May 22 California State University Northridge took time to celebrate its faculty. The annual Honored Faculty Awards Reception was celebrated with a luncheon at the Orchard Conference Center.

This tradition honors faculty members for a variety of achievements, including those celebrating milestones in their years of service at CSUN. Professors who have reached emeritus status are also given special recognition.

Faculty President Michael Neubauer and Faculty Vice-President Theresa White opened the festive event with welcoming remarks. CSUN President Erika D. Beck and Provost Meera Komarraju also spoke — Beck handed out the emeritus honors to 27 faculty members. Komarraju awarded service year recognitions to 27 faculty members who have served 25, 30 and 35 years. CSUN Foundation Board Chair Robert D. Taylor ’82 (Engineering) and President of the Association of Retired Faculty Ronald McIntyre were also on hand to offer greetings and congratulations.

Congratulations to our honored CSUN Faculty Members. Here is the list of honorees:

Outstanding Faculty Award Winners, 2023

Elizabeth Leister, Emerging Media Production, and Melissa Tindage, Communication Studies

The Preeminent Scholarly Publication Award

Jinah Kim, Communication Studies

The Distinguished Teaching, Counseling or Librarianship Award

Elizabeth Blakey, Journalism

Robert Kim, Marketing

Jeanne Robertson, Biology

The Visionary Community-Based Service Learning Award

Danielle Spratt, English

The Extraordinary Service Award

Margeaux Gamboa-Wong, Asian American Studies

The High-Impact Innovation Award

Sakile Camara, Communication Studies

The Highly Influential Sustained Innovation Award

Doris Abrishami, Health Sciences

The Exceptional Creative Accomplishment Award

Pavithra Prasad, Communication Studies

More information about the Faculty Awards can be found the CSUN Faculty Senate website.

Comments are closed.